Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Sciences is the first approved faculty of Islamic Azad University of Qom which started its activity in the field of applied chemistry with about 80 students in 1991, as well as the provision of basic courses to other faculties. However, this faculty and the Faculty of Engineering were merged and gave its name to the Faculty of Sciences and Engineering in 1997. In 2000, due to the increase of disciplines the Faculty of Sciences and Engineering was divided into three faculties of sciences, engineering and agriculture.

At present, Faculty of Sciences serves to about 900 undergraduate and postgraduate students in 31 different Fields and degrees presented as follows.

Diploma degree

  1. Mathematic educations

Bachelor (non-continuous term): 

  1. Education of Experimental sciences
  2. Education of mathematics

Bachelor(continuous term):

  1. Mathematics and applications
  2. Nuclear physics
  3. Solid physics
  4. Weather forecasting physics
  5. Applied Chemistry
  6. Pure Chemistry
  7. Microbiology
  8. Biotechnology
  9. Herbal practices
  10. Computer science
  11. Statistics and applications

Master of Science:

  1. Applied Chemistry
  2. physical Chemistry
  3. Analytical Chemistry
  4. Organic Chemistry
  5. Mineral Chemistry
  6. Mathematics – Numerical analysis)
  7. Mathematics – Operational Research
  8. Education of mathematics
  9. Statistics – social sciences and economics
  10. Nano Physics
  11. Microbiology


  1. Biology – Microbiology
  2. Applied Chemistry
  3. physical Chemistry
  4. Analytical Chemistry
  5. Organic Chemistry
  6. Mineral Chemistry


Dr Hasan Tashakori, Assistant Professor of Solid State Physics is currently the head of the Faculty of Basic Sciences.

All rights reserved by The Qom Islamic Azad University.